Finalists Announced for the 2014 getAbstract International Book Award


Now in its fourteenth year, getAbstract honors ten critically acclaimed nonfiction books from the past year’s business literature. This is the longest-running international business book award program and celebrates English and German-language works. Previous winners include celebrated authors such as George A. Akerlof, Phil Rosenzweig, Jared Diamond and Detlev S. Schlichter.

“I feel honored to have received this award in previous years from an organization that has a reputation for quality analysis and review of business books,” said Robert J. Shiller, Nobel Laureate and Yale University Professor. “It means more to me to receive an award like this than it is to make a bestseller list.”

The getAbstract International Book Award is a coveted literary award dedicated to nonfiction business book authors. Each year, getAbstract’s editors assess more than 10,000 English and German-language business books that have made a significant impact in the disciplines of leadership and management, strategy, sales and marketing, human resources, economics and politics, finance, and career development. From these categories, they select ten finalists and four winners.

“We are proud to honor the remarkable achievements of this year’s finalists,” said Arnhild Walz-Rasilier, vice president at getAbstract. “For more than a decade, getAbstract has presented the International Book Award to many progressive thinkers in business, including authors who subsequently became Nobel Laureates. The award reflects and expresses our great appreciation for outstanding business books. We owe a special thanks to our more than 500 international publishing partners, which publish so many excellent titles each year. Selecting the award nominees – the very best business books – always proves to be a challenge for our editors. We are proud that the award helps direct deserved attention to those highly innovative business books.”

getAbstract is pleased to announce the 2014 finalists:


Data Crush by Christopher Surdak, AMACOM, a division of American Management Association International

F.I.R.E. by Dan Ward, HarperBusiness, HarperCollins Publishers

Left Brain, Right Stuff by Phil Rosenzweig, Profile Books UK/Public Affairs, Perseus Books Group

The Frackers by Gregory Zuckerman, Portfolio, Penguin Random House Group

The Tragedy of the European Union by George Soros, Public Affairs, Perseus Books Group


Creability by Martin Eppler, Friederike Hoffmann and Roland Pfister, Schäffer-Poeschel

Geld by Christian Felber, Deuticke, Paul Zsolnay Verlag

Hybris by Meinhard Miegel, Propyläen, Ullstein Buchverlage

WebAttack by Roman Maria Koidl, Goldmann, Verlagsgruppe Random House

Wie wir uns täglich die Zukunft versauen by Pero Mićić, Econ, Ullstein Buchverlage

The award ceremony will take place on October 8, 2014, 4-5 pm in the reading tent at the Frankfurt Book Fair in Frankfurt, Germany.

Watch the video

%d bloggers like this: